Craigmillar Park Bowling Club is  long established  and located in the Newington area of South Edinburgh. New members are always welcome. As bowling is all about having fun, our only age qualification is that you be young at heart


It was really wet on closing day there was no chance of play, the green was flooded so

we played Bingo.

2023 Prizewinners

Ladies' Champion - Frances Lindsay

Ladies' Handicap - Ruth Addinall

Men's Handicap - Walter Vassie

Men's Dunbar Pairs - George Hanson & Tom Motion

Mixed Pairs - George Hanson & Ruth Addinall

Ladies' Nominated Pairs - Ruth Addinall & Gillean Hoehnke

Men v. Ladies - Caroline Miller Shield - Winners- The Ladies

2023 Champions and Runners Up.

Ladies Runner-up Christine Simpson, Ladies Champion Frances Lindsay, Mens Champion Donald Bunting, Mens Runner Up Allan Paton

Go to the Gallery to view all the photos Anne took on the day. Speak to her at the club if you would like some prints.

We had a fantastic day at Dunfermline this year.

Conditions were a bit windy but the company and the food were lovely as usual.

Craigmillar Park won the cup by three points. Thanks to all who organised the day and to those who took part.

Photo, Jimmy presenting the cup to Christine.

Everyone welcome - turn up to any session to play and learn.


Saturday  -  Coaching - 10.00am

Saturday  -  1.45pm play at 2.00pm

Monday  -  5.45pm play at 6.00pm

Wednesday  -  1.45pm play at 2.00pm

Opening Day April 2023

We were really lucky with the weather for Opening Day with a good turn out. It was lovely to see everyone, both players and spectators. Last years club champion Sally Vick opened the day by rolling the Silver Jack.

The Vice Presidents team won again this year!

The tea was fantastic thanks to all contributors, absolutely everything was eaten!!

Brilliant start to the season

Great photographs by Iain Henderson - click HERE to view more.


Men's Champion - Donald Bunting

Runner Up - Tom Lenaghan

Ladies Handicap Winner

Ruth Adinall

Ladies Champion - Sally Vick

Men's Handicap Winner

Walter Vassie

Club Singles Championship Day July 2022

 President Christine Simpson with Mens Championship Winner Donald Bunting and Runner Up Tom Lenagan

Vice President Donald Bunting with Ladies Championship Winner Sally Vick and Runner Up Christine Simpson

Dunfermline Friendly

We had a lovely day on Saturday 2nd July, playing our annual friendly match against Dunfermline Bowling Club . It was the first time since Covid stopped the game taking place, which has been a fixture for over 70 years.
A lovely meal was provided by Walter and his wife Anne. All the raffle prizes were won by Craigmillar bowlers! However pictured is Christine Simpson presenting the trophy to Darren Henderson for Dunfermline bowlers who won the match by one point!

Bishopbriggs v Edinburgh Friendly

The Edinburgh Ladies team at Bishopbriggs

Ruth Adinall and Christine Simpson were on the Edinburgh Ladies team that went to Bishopbriggs Bowling Club for the annual friendly match. It was a fantastic day, lots of great company, lovely food and good bowling. There were 6 full rinks and Edinburgh had the highest overall score. It has been an annual fixture since 1948, with only the 2 years out for Covid, so next year, the 75th Anniversary should be a really special day.

2022 Season

Opening day this year was great. Very well attended by regular members and lovely to see old and new faces.The green was opened with the Silver Jack by Anna Fowlie. Our first day match was the President's teams v the Vice-President's teams.

The winners were Derick Scott, Tom Lenagan, Anna Fowlie on the Vice-President's team.

Presidents past, present and future!

Anna Fowlie opening the green with the Silver Jack.

2021 Season

Closing and Presentations Day on Saturday 3rd October.

It was lovely to have the presentations in the Clubhouse this year - we just about managed to play on a damp cloudy day, the Treasurers team won the hat game.

Honorary President, David Small presented the trophies


Sally Vick, Ladies' Champion and Tom Lenagan, Men's Champion

Club Championship Finals on Sunday September 19th.

The weather looked very unpromising to start with, but by 2pm the sun had come out and it was a lovely afternoon. A good number of spectators gathered to see Tam Motion and Tom Lenagan compete for the Mens Championship, with the President Derick Scott as marker, and Ann Henderson play Sally Vick for the ladies, marked by the Vice President Christine Simpson.

The men's match was a very closely fought contest throughout with the scores almost even for most of the game. At the last end in a nail biting finishwith the score standing at 20 all, Tom Lenagan won by 1 shot. In the case of the ladies, Sally pulled right ahead early on, but Ann fought back well and the final score was 22-13.

Both matches were excellent to watch and many congratulations to all of the contestants. The game was followed by tea and cake outside with the spectators included.

It has been a particularly good season weather wise, and the green has been looking extremely good for the latter part of the season (unlike last year!).The anti fox fence has turned out to be an excellent investment.